Can a goalkeeper score a goal in soccer? One of the most exciting things about watching a soccer game is when a player scores a goal. But a goalkeeper’s primary job is to stop a goal from being scored rather than being the one to score a goal. So, is it even possible for a goalie to score a goal if they wanted to?
A goalkeeper can score a goal in a game of soccer. If the goalkeeper is the last player to touch the soccer ball before it crosses the goal line, then the goalie is considered the scorer of the goal.
Even though it’s possible and within the rules of the game for a goalkeeper to score, it’s not something you see very often in a game. To even be in with a chance of scoring a goal, the goalkeeper must either be in a specific situation in the game or sometimes just hope that the weather is on their side.
The goalkeeper has to be in a position to score
As mentioned above, it is completely within the rules of the game for a goalkeeper to score a goal. All it takes for any player to score is to be in the right place at the right time!
The reason we don’t consider the goalkeeper as a scorer of goals is that any goalkeeper who is doing their job well will be spending most, if not all, of the game by their own team’s goal.
The goalkeeper’s job is to defend their goal and do everything they can to stop the other team from scoring. For a goalie to score they usually have to be at the other end of the field and this is not their default position.
During most games, there will be some period of time where the goalkeeper is needed less than the rest of the game.
This can be because the defenders on the goalie’s team are doing a really good job at keeping the ball from getting past them or maybe because their team is just much better than the other team and the opposing team can not get the ball often enough to have a shot at the other team’s goal.
During this time it’s not uncommon to see the goalkeeper moving further up the field of play than you would normally see them playing.
Sometimes you may even see them hanging out around the halfway line. Although it needs to be remembered that this is an extremely risky choice as it leaves the goalkeeper’s goal wide open and vulnerable to any long-distance attempt from the opposition.
The reason the goalie does move up the field can be because the goalkeeper is just trying to get nearer to where the game is taking place and they are hoping that if they are nearer they are more likely to be involved.
It also is an advantage to their own team is it effectively gives them another outfield player.
But it also means that they are closer to the opposing team’s goal. And we all know that the nearer you are to the goal the more likely you are to score a goal. It’s by no means guaranteed, but your chances do increase!
This is a situation where some goalkeepers find themselves in a position to score a goal. The reality is, however, that most goalkeepers get on the scoresheet from very specific parts of the game.
Most goalkeepers who score take part in set-pieces
This is where most of the goals scored by goalkeepers come from.
Whether it is the goalkeeper themselves taking a penalty or a free-kick, or whether they simply come into the opposition’s half of the field to put themselves in a position to score when their team is about to take a set-piece.
Top goals scored by goalkeepers come from a set-piece
To answer the question: Can a goalkeeper score a goal in soccer? The examples below are the best answers for you.
The Brazilian goalkeeper, Rogério Ceni, is on record as being the highest-scoring goalkeeper in the history of the game. He scored 131 goals throughout his career.
Almost every one of these goals came from taking the free kicks and penalty kicks for his team. This put him in a great position to score in the majority of games he played.
The Paraguayan goalkeeper, José Luis Chilavert, who scored 67 goals throughout his career, even managed to score a hat-trick in one game he played in because he was the player who took the team’s set-pieces. He took 3 penalty kicks in one game and scored 3 penalty kicks.
Alternatively, some goalkeepers such as the Danish goalie Peter Schmeichel, who scored 13 goals during his professional career, had a reputation for running the length of the field to join the rest of his team in the opposition team’s penalty area whenever there was a corner or free-kick taking place.
This was most often at times in a game when his team needed to do all they could to score a goal. Putting himself in the position to receive the ball from the set-piece enabled him to score all those goals.
There are a few other ways a goalie can score
It’s pretty rare to see, but it does happen. Sometimes a goalkeeper will literally kick the ball from their own penalty area all the way to the other end of the field into the other team’s goal.
Most of the time this happens when the goalie is taking a goal kick.
A player can score a goal directly from a goal-kick. If the goalkeeper takes the goal-kick and the ball goes directly into the opposition’s goal, the referee will award a goal. However, if the ball goes into the player’s own goal from a goal kick, the referee will award a corner kick to the opposition.
It is entirely within the rules of the game for a goalkeeper to shoot for a goal from their own goal area. Either from a goal-kick or kicking the ball out of their own hands.
The times this happens are often on an unusually windy day and the ball just gets carried by the wind much further than the opposing team expects and the ball goes over everyone’s head into the goal.
Alternatively, you may see the ball bounce much higher or further than expected once the goalkeeper’s initial kick has hit the ground, and it takes everyone by surprise and goes into the opposition’s goal.
This situation usually involves not just an unusual result from the goalkeeper’s kick but also relies on the opposing team’s players, particularly their goalkeeper, to be out of position compared to where they probably should have been.
The British goalkeeper, Tom King, has a record for scoring the longest goal in world soccer. On January 19, 2021, he kicked the ball 96.01 m (105 yds) from his goal area into the opposing team’s goal.
Check out this video below of him scoring from a goal kick.
After he kicked it the ball got caught in the wind and bounced over the opposition goalkeeper’s head.
How far can a goalie come out in soccer? A goalkeeper is permitted to go anywhere on the soccer field. They can come out of their goal area as far as they feel comfortable. However, they can only touch the ball with their hands within their own penalty box.
Can the goalkeeper run with the ball? A goalkeeper can run with the ball in their hands only within their own penalty area. During this time they can only hold the ball in their hands for a maximum of 6 seconds. A goalkeeper can run with the ball at his or her feet anywhere they want to on the rest of the soccer field.
Can a goalkeeper pick up the ball twice? Once the ball has left a goalkeeper’s hands, after he or she has already picked it up, the goalkeeper can not pick up the ball again until another player has touched the ball. They are, however, permitted to touch the ball with any other part of their body until this happens.
You have learned about “Can a goalkeeper score a goal in soccer?”. Follow FermiFootball to explore more information and rules in football.